Saturday January 19, 2019
SNc Channels:



Feb-11-2008 17:56printcomments

Senate Approves Legislation to Tighten Identification Requirements

Legislation will require legal presence to obtain Oregon driver’s license.

Oregon State Police trooper doing traffic stop

(SALEM, Ore.) - Earlier today the Oregon Senate approved SB 1080, legislation that will help prevent identity fraud in Oregon by tightening the requirements to receive Oregon driver’s licenses and identification.

SB 1080 will require the Department of Motor Vehicles to verify social security numbers with the U.S. Social Security Administration before issuing an Oregon driver’s license, identification card, or driver’s permit.

"The lax standard of driver’s licensing in Oregon has made our state a target for criminal organizations and more vulnerable to identity fraud," said Sen. Laurie Monnes Anderson (D-Gresham). "We took a stand for high standards for state documentation today."

After holding several public hearings, the Senate Committee on Transportation introduced SB 1080. It builds on the executive order issued by Governor Kulongoski this fall.

Executive Order 07-22 tightens requirements for proving identity prior to issuance and required social security numbers to obtain Oregon identification. SB 1080 codifies the executive order and addresses some of the technical issues raised by the Executive Order.

Notably, SB 1080 provides an ombudsman service for individuals who are legally present in Oregon, but unable to provide appropriate documentation, like a social security number or birth certificate.

"SB 1080 helps to mitigate the red tape and inconveniences that would otherwise impact Oregonians under the current executive order," said Sen. Rick Metsger (D-Welches), chair of the Senate Transportation Committee, "We cannot ignore the needs of the public, whose rights and privileges would be diminished without this legislation."

In addition to the requirement of social security numbers, the legislation stipulates that a license issued to a person who is not a citizen or permanent legal resident is only valid until the date that they are no longer authorized to stay in the United States, or until one year from the issuance of the license.

"Respect for the rule of law is the foundation of our government," said Sen. Joanne Verger (D-District 5), a member of the Transportation Committee, "These conditions are common sense requirements that will protect the public safety and security of our neighborhoods."

SB 1080 now moves to the House for consideration.

Comments Leave a comment on this story.

All comments and messages are approved by people and self promotional links or unacceptable comments are denied.

Jefferson February 13, 2008 6:14 pm (Pacific time)

Since Sen. Peter Courtney and a whole bunch of other legislators voted for this, maybe one or more of them can address the inquiries presented by the 6:17 am poster? That would be swell! If you need their phone numbers or emails, just grab a phone book, and they are real easy to contact. Good luck and if possible could you share any info re: this matter...thanks! Accountibility, that's what we need from our elected officals...

Henry Ruark February 13, 2008 6:17 am (Pacific time)

To all: Still await any Op Ed setting out full detail on serious questions involved in the whole immigration issue, from "anaarchy"-proclaimer. Easy to fire off Unfactual inflammatory stuff when you avoid responsibility and any accountability, to readers here OR voters.

Jefferson February 12, 2008 11:02 am (Pacific time)

Time to remove the "no" voters. Their "no" vote supports anarchy!

Tally the Votes February 12, 2008 9:14 am (Pacific time)

Voting "no" in support of Illegal Aliens Sen. Vicki Walker, D-Eugene Senate Majority Leader Kate Brown, D-Portland Sen. Brad Avakian, D-Portland/Beaverton Sen. Alan Bates, D-Ashland Sen. Ginny Burdick, D-Portland Sen. Margaret Carter, D-Portland Sen. Avel Gordly, I-Portland Voting "yes" in support of Americans! Senate President Peter Courtney, D-Salem Sen. Jackie Winters, R-Salem Sen. Fred Girod, R-Molalla Sen. Kurt Schrader, D-Canby Sen. Jason Atkinson, R-Grants Pass Sen. Ryan Devlin, D-Tualatin Senate Minority Leader Ted Ferrioli, R-John Day Sen. Gary George, R-Newberg Sen. Larry George, R-Sherwood Sen. Mark Hass, D-Beaverton Sen. Betsy Johnson, D-Scappoose Sen. Jeff Kruse, R-Roseburg Sen. Rick Metsger, D-Welches Sen. Laurie Monnes Anderson, D-Gresham Sen. Rod Monroe, D-Portland Sen. Bill Morrisette, D-Springfield Sen. Frank Morse, R-Corvallis Sen. David Nelson, R-Pendleton Sen. Floyd Prozanski, D-Eugene Sen. Bruce Starr, R-Hillsboro Sen. Joanne Verger, D-Coos Bay Sen. Ben Westlund, D-Tumalo Sen. Doug Whitsett, R-Klamath Falls

[Return to Top]
©2019 All opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of

Articles for February 10, 2008 | Articles for February 11, 2008 | Articles for February 12, 2008
Donate to and help us keep the news flowing! Thank you.

Call 503-362-6858 to Order Ahead  or for Party Reservations!