Monday August 3, 2020
SNc Channels:



Apr-21-2011 19:54printcomments

County Advisory Group for Forestry to Meet May 6

Oregon Department of Forestry

(Salem, Oregon) - A group of commissioners representing Oregon counties that in the past deeded forestland to the State for management will meet on Friday, May 6, in Salem.

The Forest Trust Land Advisory Committee's (FTLAC) meeting agenda includes:

  • Discussion of state forest-related bills underway in the Oregon Legislature
  • Review of Northwest Oregon Forest Management Plan implementation plans currently underway
  • Review of fiscal budgets and revenue projections from state forest lands
  • Review of issues before the Board of Forestry or State Land Board in the next several months regarding state lands, including the carbon markets project in the Gilchrist State Forest; management of the Elliott State Forest; evaluation of Oregon Department of Forestry (ODF) land management by the Institute for Natural Resources, and the ongoing review of conservation principles; planning for State Forests and defining "greatest permanent value" by the Board of Forestry
The meeting will be held from 9:30 a.m. to noon in the Santiam Room of the ODF Operations Building (D), 2600 State St., in Salem. FTLAC meetings are open to the public, and an opportunity for public comment will be provided at 10 a.m. The FTLAC is a legally mandated committee of county commissioners representing counties that deeded lands to the state. The committee advises the Board of Forestry on matters where counties may have a responsibility related to forestland managed by ODF. Planning and policy decisions made by the board and department can affect revenues received by the counties with forest trust lands managed by ODF, which are located in the Tillamook State Forest and elsewhere. Counties depend on revenue generated from management activities on these lands. The revenue is used primarily for local schools and also helps fund county government and local taxing districts. FTLAC is made up of seven members that represent the 15 counties that have state forest land within their county boundaries. The 15 trust counties include: Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Douglas, Josephine, Klamath, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Polk, Tillamook and Washington.

News Release from: Oregon Dept. of Forestry

Comments Leave a comment on this story.

All comments and messages are approved by people and self promotional links or unacceptable comments are denied.

[Return to Top]
©2020 All opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of

Articles for April 20, 2011 | Articles for April 21, 2011 | Articles for April 22, 2011

Special Section: Truth telling news about marijuana related issues and events.

Your customers are looking: Advertise on!

Tribute to Palestine and to the incredible courage, determination and struggle of the Palestinian People. ~Dom Martin

Sean Flynn was a photojournalist in Vietnam, taken captive in 1970 in Cambodia and never seen again.